Maiju’s Teacup 9/8/2017 – Book Lovers’ Day

I was so totally not aware that there was a book lovers’ day before I checked the trending tag on Twitter this morning. I’ve been missing actual books lately, as I have had a few books that I’ve had to read on my tablet. The reason for this is that they won’t appear on my eReader, apparently for love nor money. I prefer the eReader which has no backlight and is much smaller than my tablet. Why not get the real book then? Whell, young grasshopper, it just was the cheaper option, which is what I’ve had to settle for recently.

My local library has been really good this past year. I’ve only been able to afford to buy a few books and I’ve had to be very selective on those. Mostly I’ve just sent a request for the library to get the book and if they didn’t, basically I’ve had to forget about it. Or, well, add it to the list of books that I’ll get when I have money again. The latest book to arrive from my library requests was Tad Williams’ The Witchwood Crown. It’s so nice to step into a familiar world but to be on the cusp of a totally new story. The book is huge, though. Like a regular Tad Brick. You could murder someone with that book. Or build a cairn. Or use it as a headstone. Every time I drop it on my face, I imagine my obituary. And then I think about my cousin’s wedding to which I’m going on Saturday and that I don’t want to turn up there with a black eye.

Reading can be a dangerous business. So look out, and Happy Book Lovers’ Day!

2017-08-09

Leave a Reply

