Maiju’s Teacup 8/5/2017

20170508_183720

Today there’s hibiscus in my teacup. I took stock of all of the tea I have left and found this and a lot more tea in my cupboard. I did finally manage to fit my teas on three shelves (see photo at the end of post). That’s totally a miracle, as I used to have two whole cupboards of the stuff in my last flat, and those cupboards had much deeper shelves than these.

I’ve been trying to avoid reading Marie Brennan’s In the Sanctuary of Wings. The trouble is, it’s the last book in the series and I totally and utterly do not want for the series to end. The protagonist claims that who would be interested in reading about her dull experiences in the ordinary day life of a scholar: I WOULD!!!

But yeah, I get it. It’s good for series to end at some point and good for the author to be able to move onto the next thing which inspires her. I’ve just enjoyed the Lady Trent series so much that I’m going to miss it a lot.

I love fantasy series with female protagonists. They aren’t as rare anymore, but when I started reading fantasy, there were a lot of books about teenage boys and young men finding, fighting, flying dragons. It might have been just the selection of books the local library had decided on. But still, when I grew up, fantasy was considered somewhat of a boy’s department. Well, I never cared for such “rules” and read everything anyway. But I love series such as Lady Trent and Kristen Britain’s The Green Rider. The next part of The Green Rider is waiting for me on my eReader so when I’ve finished at least one book, I get to start that.

Another writer who has always been close to my heart, surprise surprise, is Neil Gaiman. I requested our library to get his The View from the Cheap Seats, which is a collection of his non-fiction. Speeches and introductions etc. I requested the book a year ago when it came out and finally last week the library got it (I guess they had to wait for the paper back edition). I’ve been taking my time, reading those pieces as inspiration and, I guess, when I would like a few moments to talk with a friend.

I have never met Mr. Gaiman (though he was at Hay Festival a few years ago, but missed him because of my friend’s sister’s pesky high school graduation party 😉 ). But before I read his novels, I never really believed anyone could actually be interested in the stuff I really wanted to write. I hadn’t ever read (nor ever since) quite something like what he wrote, except that they resonated with my dreams and the stories I made up in my mind.

I think I found his blog a few months after he started writing it and I kept going back to it. Reading the non-fiction collection reminds me of those “good old days” when he blogged, if not daily, at least weekly. I get nostalgic about events that he describes which I first read about in his blog. It’s fun to actually read the speeches that he mentioned having given. It also reminds me of the person I was at the time when I first read about them. That’s why I feel like reading The View from the Cheap Seats is a much more social experience than your regular book.

I guess I’m even writing this blog because I used to read Mr. Gaiman’s blog (well, still do, if he ever blogs).

Alright, still daylight left to write (two hours, the sun barely sets anymore).

20170505_095700

Leave a Reply

