Maiju’s Teacup 23/4/2017

wp-1492975593651.jpg

This photo is a few days old *audible gasp*. I’m drinking peppermint infusion from that cup in the photo.

Today is Shakespeare’s Birth/Deathday, World Book Day, St. George’s Day, and the day of the book and the rose, which is basically just the Finnish version of World Book Day.

I decided to honour World Book Day by giving up reading a few books that just weren’t doing it for me. Muriel Barbery’s The Life of Elves was just plain confusing and uninteresting and I was lucky to give it up, because I checked the ratings later and found out from reviews that it’s the first book of a duology. Which means that had I struggled through it, the story wouldn’t have finished.

Yesterday I picked up Anthony Trollope’s The Way We Live Now. I’ve had it for years, and I remember watching the BBC mini-series, but I don’t have much of an idea what happened in the end. I just felt like reading something from the time when George Eliot was writing. I don’t know… This one’s so obviously written by a man. And I don’t like any of the characters. But I guess I’ll finish it to see whether Sir Felix Carbury (I always read the name Cadbury in my mind) will get his comeuppance. I really hope he does.

The photo above is actually from Friday when the weather was abysmal and I was reading Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology and the book about Hygge. It’s all the rage apparently. Not sure if it’s that anywhere else but in Finland. Oh well. Anyway, I took it upon me to try hyggeing and I guess I succeeded. Tea, book, blanket, storm outside, good food.

Yesterday and today the weather has been much better. It’s still not very warm, but the sun has been shining. The house I live in has a huge, and I mean HUGE yard. It’s just enormous. At least for the fact that it’s almost in the middle of the town. No one really takes care of the yard, so yesterday when I went to the store to get milk, I bought a rake. I’ve spent several hours raking the yard yesterday and today. It’s just the best workout there is! Outside in the sunshine, doing something that has a wider effect, letting the suffocated plants from under years of dead leaves. And last night when I went to sleep, every one of my muscles ached. Today it’s been a bit better, but still. It’s nice to get excercised so sneakily.

Here are some anemone’s I found in the yard.

wp-1492975689936.jpg

Leave a Reply

