Maiju’s Teacup 22/3/2017

I’m staying at my mum’s who had a cataract operation yesterday. Must be awful not being able to read.

I’m utilising the time by doing laundry in the communal laundry room which has a dryer and a drying room. The washing machine can handle even smaller carpets so I did those yesterday.

I took three books with me. I am, after all, staying here a whole 36 hours… I ended up starting, for the umpteenth time, one of my favourite books. 

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows has been a constant read ever since I picked it up from the library in 2008, a decision based only on the name. I gave it to several friends to read. 

When I found it as paperback I’ve been constantly buying it. First because the editions I lent to my friends never found back to me. Soon I started buying it whenever I found a cheap edition and giving them to friends or random people who might be interested in it. Even now when I can’t afford to do that anymore, I’ve been making friends swear to get it for themselves if they find it in a second hand bookshop. 

So if you come across this book in the bookshop or the library, read it.

Leave a Reply

