Pacing myself for NaNoWriMo

So it’s  9.35 pm on the last day of October and tomorrow I will start writing my very first novel in English. Also my first ever time taking part in the National Novel Writing Month (though they really should call it International, because that’s what it actually is… InNoWriMo).

When I set up my profile on the NaNoWriMo site, I read about all sorts of events and write-ins and was excited. Well, the closest one to me is about 500km away… I was disappointed at first, and thought about arranging something myself, but then I got real.

If I’m really going to write this novel, I will have to concentrate on the text. And though I might miss out on creating a writing community, I think at this point my goal is just to get to those 50 000+ words ( i added the plus sign because I’m rather prolific with words and doubt I’ll be able to tell the story I plan to with only that amount…).

So I will set my main goal as writing. Just going with the text where it is taking me.

Another thing I realised is that this is going to take quite a lot out of me. I’m an intensive writer and when I get going, I will stop for almost  nothing. I might be cold, I might be hungry, I might need to pee, but if I have a thread of story in my mind, in my fingers, I will pull it until I’ve unravelled all I can.

So I’m not going to stay up until midnight and start writing the story at the stroke of November. I’m going to go to bed soon, listen to some peaceful Stephen Fry (reading Harry Potter ) and wake up refreshed in the morning.

I know my writing habits and I’m usually at my best in the morning.

However. I am going to make a few decisions, just to make myself break the mold.

  1. i will go outside and write (unless of course it’s too cold for it, believe me, ballpoint pen ink runs thick surprisingly quickly).
  2. I will go inside and write. And by inside I mean the library or a cafe.
  3. I will exercise every day. Be it a walk or a trip to the gym, I know it’s good for my writing.

So, I think three things plus the goal of writing a novel are enough for one month.

If you are taking part, you can find me on the NaNoWriMo site also by the name Mayusteapot.

Love,

Maiju

Leave a Reply

