NaNoWriMo consideration and habits

So,  after years of considering it and always remembering that it’s November too late, I’ve finally signed up for NaNoWriMo this  year. One thing concerns me though: NaNoWriMo is against one of my basic habits.

And actually it’s a good habit which I’ve had for years now. It basically boils down to: why do tomorrow what you can do today.

I’ve tried to uphold this especially with writing. And it just works for me. Why wait until NewYear or some specific moment to start doing something? No time is better than the present because when something new occurs to me, it’s usually the optimal time to do something about it.

So I’m trying to find a new angle to this and luckily the NaNoWriMo site directly offers it to me. I am going to think of this as an event! One that starts at a specific time. And I can use time leading up to it to prep.

Which is actually an amazingly good thing! I usually research things for my texts while I’m writing them, but this time, I’m going to do some of it beforehand and see where it leads me.

All of this consideration has actually helped me to decide on what to write as well. I’ve had this idea for a while and I think I’m finally ready to put it into words! I’m going to write in English, which is new. Or well, I write a lot in English but I haven’t written any longer texts.

Also, a friend offered to read my texts lately and I’m going to take her up on her offer (poor Esther, she’s got no idea what she’s got herself into 😉).

So look out world, by you’re not going to see me in November!

Love,

Maiju

P.S. I’m probably going to be posting a lot of desperation during November, so…

One thought on “NaNoWriMo consideration and habits

Leave a Reply

